Home » About Us » Awards » Chesterfield Smith Award

Chesterfield Smith Award

The award recognizes extraordinary courage and commitment to pro bono by a legal leader. It honors the memory of the late Founder and Chairman Emeritus of Holland & Knight, Chesterfield Smith, who grew his firm from a two-lawyer office to the eighth largest law firm in the country. He believed, passionately and completely, in equal justice for all, while standing firm in his conviction that public service and pro bono are absolutely essential elements in the lives of lawyers and in the work of great law firms. The award is not given annually; rather only when warranted by outstanding achievement.

John J. Conroy, Jr.
Principal, Baker & McKenzie LLP

The Honorable Jonathan Lippman
New York State Court of Appeals

Robert E. Juceam
Of counsel at Fried, Frank, Harris, Shriver & Jacobson

The Honorable Robert A. Katzmann
U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

The Honorable Eric H. Holder, Jr.
Attorney General of the United States

Thomas A. Gottschalk
Executive Vice President Law and Public Policy of General Motors

John D. Hamilton, Jr.
Of Counsel
Wilmer Cutler Pickering Hale and Dorr
PBI Law Firm Pro Bono Project Advisory Committee